Sabbatical

A prayerful, in-depth study of the Scriptures with a genuine desire to hear God speak and apply his words to our lives is fantastic. A joyless mission to understand the position of every comma for the sake of the comma rather than God turns discipline into legalism and the Bible into a book of torturous complexity and effort. It stifles Bible reading. It leads to pride in my understanding and despair in my lack of it. Most of all, it distracts from the God which the Bible is here to reveal. I am sad to say that this is where I have allowed this blog to take me. So I’m taking a break.

I’ll still be an avid note-taker in sermons, read good books, get stuck into group Bible studies and treasure the time I spend in personal reading of the Bible. But I’m going to stop coming here, so that I can read a paragraph of the Bible without feeling that I have to be able to write ten on it. I’m going to stop speaking and try to listen. I hope to be back, but I won’t be until God has transformed my heart and my attitude towards his Scriptures and my time.

I don’t know if anyone will read this, but if you are I wish you all the best in your own searching of the Bible. If you are looking for a companion on your journey I can recomend you talk to someone at church or read the Bible Speaks Today commentary series. But most of all, don’t forget to listen to the Holy Spirit as he guides you through God’s word. He wrote it, he knows. That’s certainly my prayer for me.

God bless.

One Response to “Sabbatical”

  1. Nath Says:

    Fair enough mate. Sounds like a plan. You don’t have to just blog about the Bible though. An occassional foray into what’s going on in your life or something that tickled your fancy never goes amiss. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

